

PUBLIC EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT BOARD MEETING

April 17, 2023

9:30 A.M.

A regular meeting of the Public Employees Retirement Board (PERB) convened at 9:30 a.m., Monday, April 17, 2023, in the First Nebraska Administrative Building, Lower-Level Training and Development Room, 1526 "K" Street, Lincoln, Nebraska.

The Board members were notified of this meeting by Agenda posted on the PERB SharePoint website on Friday, April 14, 2023. Public notice of this meeting was published in the Lincoln Journal-Star and Omaha World-Herald on Monday April 10, 2023. K. Ackerman chaired the meeting and T. Cummings recorded the minutes.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

KELLI ACKERMAN, CHAIR GERALD CLAUSEN MIKE JAHNKE ALLEN SIMPSON JIM SCHULZ JUDGE THOMAS ZIMMERMAN MICHAEL WALDEN-NEWMAN, EX-OFFICIO

MEMBERS NOT PRESENT:

JANIS ELLIOTT

NONMEMBERS PRESENT:

RANDY GERKE Director **ORRON HILL** Legal Counsel VANESSA HOHLEN Internal Auditor **TERESA ZULAUF** Controller MELISSA NUSS **Retirement Plan Manager TYLER CUMMINGS Retirement Plan Manager** JACK HARDY Information Technology (IT) Manager VICKI HUBER Human Resources Specialist JOHNETTA LANG **Data Services Manager**

MARIA DAVIS **Retirement Specialist II** SOPHIA DUNSMORE Auditor I NEAL ERICKSON **Retirement Committee Legal Counsel** JUSTIN WALKOWIAK Nebraska Investment Council JOSH RUHNKE Ameritas **RYAN WALTON** State Budget Office **JASON HAYES** Director Finalist JASON PAULSMEYER **Director Finalist** SUZANNE WISE Public

Public Employees Retirement Board Meeting April 17, 2023 Page 2

<u>Agenda Item 1</u>: K. Ackerman stated this meeting will follow the Nebraska Open Meetings Act and a copy of the Act is provided electronically, via a link on the final agenda posted on the Nebraska Public Employees Retirement Systems' (NPERS) website, on the Attorney General's website, and a copy of the Act is located on the table by the door.

<u>Agenda Items 2 and 3 – Meeting Called to Order</u>: K. Ackerman called the April 17, 2023, Board Meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. Present at meeting: K. Ackerman, G. Clausen, M. Jahnke, A. Simpson, J. Schulz, M. Walden-Newman, and T. Zimmerman.

Excuse Board Member: A. Simpson moved to excuse J. Elliott. Motion was seconded by T. Zimmerman. Members voted as follows: For: K. Ackerman, G. Clausen, M. Jahnke, J Schulz, A. Simpson, and T. Zimmerman. Against: None. Motion carried.

<u>Agenda Item 4 – Approval of Minutes</u>: M. Jahnke moved for approval of the minutes of the April 5, 2023, Board Meeting with the condition the voting record for J. Elliott regarding the February 27, 2023, Board Minutes Approval and Travel Request be updated to reflect her votes to abstain. Motion was seconded by G. Clausen. Members voted as follows: For: K. Ackerman, G. Clausen, M. Jahnke, J. Schulz, A. Simpson, and T. Zimmerman. Against: None. Motion carried.

<u>Agenda Item 5 – Approval of Budget Status Report & March Retirement Report</u>: A. Simpson moved for approval of the Budget Status Report and the March 2023 Retirement Report. Motion was seconded by M. Jahnke. Members voted as follows: For: K. Ackerman, G. Clausen, M. Jahnke, J. Schulz, A. Simpson, and T. Zimmerman. Against: None. Motion carried.

<u>Agenda Item 6 – Public Comments or Correspondence from Citizens</u>: Suzanne Wise provided public comment on the experience she had taking a distribution of her NPERS' retirement account. She suggested NPERS allow for the electronic transfer for rollover distributions.

<u>Agenda Item 7 – NPERS Director Finalist Interviews</u>: K. Ackerman stated the PERB would interview the following finalists for the NPERS Director position: Mr. Jason Hayes and Mr. Jason Paulsmeyer. K. Ackerman described today's interview process by the Director Search Committee and thanked them for their diligent work.

The Board took a break from 9:44 a.m. to 9:54 a.m.

The following candidate was interviewed by the Committee: J. Hayes.

The Board took a break from 10:45 a.m. to 10:53 a.m.

The following candidate was interviewed by the Committee: J. Paulsmeyer.

<u>Agenda Items 8 and 9 – Executive Session</u>: At 12:00 p.m. M. Jahnke moved that the Board exit Regular Session and convene in the Executive Session for the purpose of Prevention of Needless Injury to the Reputation of an Individual; Personnel Matters; Protection of Public Interest, Prevention of needless injury to the Reputation of an Individual. Update of Pending Legal Matters; Protection of Public Interest. Motion was seconded by T. Zimmerman. Members voted as follows: For: K. Ackerman, G. Clausen, M. Jahnke, J. Schulz, A. Simpson, and T. Zimmerman. Against: None. Motion carried. Public Employees Retirement Board Meeting April 17, 2023 Page 3

At 1:18 p.m., M. Jahnke moved the Board exit Executive Session and reconvene in Regular Session. Motion was seconded by G. Clausen. Members voted as follows: For: K. Ackerman, G. Clausen, M. Jahnke, J. Schulz, A. Simpson, and T. Zimmerman. Against: None. Motion carried.

A. Simpson moved to approve the hiring of the finalist selected by the PERB for the NPERS Director position. Motion was seconded by G. Clausen. Members voted as follows: For: K. Ackerman, G. Clausen, M. Jahnke, J. Schulz, A. Simpson, and T. Zimmerman. Against: None. Motion carried.

A. Simpson moved to appoint Chairperson K. Ackerman to negotiate the mutually acceptable employment terms and conditions with the finalist selected as directed by the PERB. The employment offer is subject to a satisfactory background and reference check. If K. Ackerman is unable to negotiate an acceptable employment arrangement with the finalist selected as prescribed by the PERB, the authority granted herein shall terminate until the PERB delegates further authority. If the PERB reaches an agreement with the finalist selected by the PERB, such employment shall be subject to and conditioned upon the approval of the Governor and a majority of the Legislature as required by law.

Agenda Item 10 – Board Committee Reports: There were none.

Agenda Item 11 - Board Education/Travel Requests: There were none.

Agenda Item 12 - Future Meetings/Agendas: The next PERB meeting is on May 15, 2023.

<u>Adjournment</u>: G. Clausen moved that the meeting adjourn. Motion was seconded by T. Zimmerman. Members voted as follows: For: K. Ackerman, G. Clausen, M. Jahnke, J. Schulz, A. Simpson, and T. Zimmerman. Against: None. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 1:22 p.m.

K-JD-Ja

Randy Gerke Director