DETERMINING RETIREMENT PLAN ENROLLMENT
FOR STATE AGENCY SCHOOL PLAN EMPLOYERS

START HERE: Is the employing entity a State Agency School Plan Employer (SASPE)?
SASPE are the State Department of Education (NDE), the Health and Human Services (DHHS), the Department of Corrections
Services (DCS), or other State agencies with State Code Agency Teacher Association (SCATA) contract covered employees.
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TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT RULES FOR PLAN START HERE

MEMBERS WHO ARE RETIRING OR TAKING A A certificated employee is (1) working for a State
DISTRIBUTION AFTER WORKING FOR A STATE Agency School Plan Employer, (2) ceasing employment
AGENCY SCHOOL PLAN EMPLOYER and (3) retiring or taking a distribution from retirement.
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What plan are they in?

STATE SCHOOL
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The individual cannot render any service for the State of Nebraska
within 120 days. The individual cannot render any service for the State of Nebraska
within 120 days.

The individual cannot provide any service, including intermittent

voluntary and/or substitute service, to any employer participating in the The individual cannot render any service for an employer covered by the
School Plan for 120 days. The terminating employee may render School Plan within 180 days, except for intermittent voluntary and
intermittent voluntary and substitute service as described in NRS § 79- substitute service as described in NRS § 79-902(45)(b)(i).
902(45)(b)(i) after 120 days have passed.
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4 SUMMARY OF THE TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT RULES R

The termination of employment rules existed before LB 700's passage. LB 700 did not change these rules. Rather, LB 700 simply codified some key rules in a more centralized location.
Complying with these rules is critical to ensuring the plans’ qualified status under the Internal Revenue Code. Below is a summary of some of the key provisions, with notes about the
sections that existed before LB 700.

In the State Plan, a member terminates employment for retirement purposes only if the person has a bona fide separation of service for at least 120 days and there is no prearranged
return to work between the member and any employer covered by the State Plan. There are NO exceptions to this 120-day bona fide separation of service period. (NRS § 84-1301(37).)
These provisions existed prior to LB 700.

In the School Plan, a member terminates employment for retirement purposes only if the person has a bona fide separation of service for at least 180 days and there is no prearranged
return to work between the member and any employer covered by the School Plan (including a State Agency School Plan Employer, such as NDE, DHHS, and DCS), except:
(1) Intermittent voluntary and/or substitute service during the 180 days following the alleged termination date that does not exceed 8 days of intermittent voluntary and/or
substitute service in a calendar month.
(a) A day of service means any length of service in a single calendar day.
(b) Intermittent basis means service provided on a day-to-day basis (See, Laws 2021, LB 147, codified at NRS § 79-902(45)); and
(2) Service to a State Code Agency School Plan Employer specifically authorized by NRS § 79-920 as described in the Determining Retirement Plan Enrollment for State Agency
School Plan Employers flowchart. (See, Laws 2022, LB 700, to be codified at NRS § 79-920. Note, as of the revision of this document the Legislature’s website has not been
updated to reflect the changes found in LB 700. You will need to review the slip law copy of the bill.)

These provisions existed prior to LB 700's passage except for the language in (2), which was modified by LB 700.

In both the State Plan and School Plan, the PERB has statutory authority to determine whether a termination of employment for retirement purposes has occurred. If the PERB
determines a termination did not occur, the law requires the member to repay any distributions from retirement, requires both the member and employer to make up missed
contributions, and the member’s 180-day or 120-day waiting period, as applicable, would restart based on the new termination date. Due to late reporting, the employers may be
subject to late fees and interest. (See, NRS §§ 84-1301(37) and 84-1305.02 for the State Plan, and 79-902(45), 79-904.01, and 79-960 for the School Plan, respectively. See also Title
303, Nebraska Administrative Code, Chapter 18.) These provisions existed before LB 700's passage.
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