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Nebraska School Employees 
Retirement Systems

The following pension information provides an 
overview of the benefits available to members 
of the Nebraska School Employees Retirement 
Systems and does not constitute the plan 
document which can be found in the Nebraska 
Statutes 79- Article 9, The Nebraska School 
Employees’ Retirement Act.   
 
The provisions of the School Retirement 
Laws, in all cases, supercede the information 

provided in this notebook.

Revised February 2025
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HOW IT WORKS:
The Nebraska School Retirement Plan is a “Defined Benefit Plan.” This means that the method 
for determining your retirement benefit at retirement is based on a formula as defined in the 
Nebraska School Retirement System Law.

There are two distinct concepts of a Defined Benefit Plan:

n	 CALCULATION of your benefit at retirement (how much your benefit will be), and 
n	 FUNDING of your retirement benefit (where the money comes from).

Calculation of Your Benefit At Retirement
As a member of a Defined Benefit Plan, your account balance IS NOT considered when 
calculating your retirement benefit.
As a School Plan (Defined Benefit Plan) member, your benefit at retirement is calculated 
based on a formula.  The formula uses an average of your highest 12-months periods of salary 
(counting back from the final month of pay), multiplied by your total years of creditable service, 
the formula factor set by law, and the retirement benefit payment option you select.

FORMULA

Average Highest 
12-Month Periods 

Compensation
X

Years of  
Creditable 

Service
X

Formula  
Factor  

(Currently 2%)
X Option  

Factor =
RETIREMENT 

BENEFIT  
PAYMENT

NOTE: Your benefit is calculated based on the law in effect at the time you cease employment.  To 
qualify for the 2% multiplier, you must have been employed on or after May 2, 2001, and earned at 
least one-half year of creditable service on or after the 2000-2001 school year.

Funding of Your Retirement Benefit
Your retirement benefit is funded from 4 sources:

Source #1 Source #2 Source #3 Source #4
YOUR 

ACCOUNT YOUR EMPLOYER STATE OF NEBRASKA INVESTMENT 
EARNINGS

As a MEMBER 
of the School 
Retirement 
System, you are 
required by law 
to contribute a 
set percentage 
of your gross 
compensation.

Your EMPLOYER 
is required by law 
to match your 
contributions at the 
rate of 101%.  The 
employer contributions 
are not credited to your 
individual account, but 
provide funding for your 
benefit at retirement.

The STATE OF NEBRASKA 
annually contributes a percent-
age of total members’ compen-
sation and may contribute an 
additional amount to fund the 
Plan, if recommended by the 
actuary.  These funds are appro-
priated by the Legislature.  The 
current contribution rate is 2.0%.

INVESTMENT 
EARNINGS on 
Plan assets help 
provide funds 
for both your 
future benefit and 
for the interest 
credited each 
month to your 
account.

Your retirement benefit is not based on the contributions made, but is based on a 
formula.  The contributions help to fund your benefit for life.
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EXAMPLE
n $5,000 in Pre-’86 Contributions
n Age 55 = 360 Payments Assigned

$5,000 ÷ 360 = $13.89
Tax-Free  
for 360  
Payments
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TAXATION
IMPORTANT

NPERS does not provide tax advice. In all cases, members should 
consult the Internal Revenue Service, their state’s revenue agency, 
or a tax professional, as appropriate, for information on tax conse-
quences, questions, or matters.

Contributions to the School Plan are not taxed when deducted from your salary. 
Distributions, whether in the form of a monthly benefit or refund, are therefore 
subject to state and federal income tax.

Contributions made prior to January 1, 1986, were taxed before being deducted from 
salary. These contributions are not subject to State and Federal income tax and will 
be returned to you tax free (see Safe Harbor in school handbook).

When Receiving a Retirement Benefit
NPERS will withhold federal taxes from each monthly check at the rate you specify 
on the Withholding Certificate for Annuity Payments form (included in the retirement 
packet and available on the NPERS website). If you do not complete and submit this 
form to NPERS, we will withhold at the default rate of “single and zero (0) allow-
ances.” You may change your withholding at any time by submitting a new form. 
Members who have created an online account via the NPERS website may also 
change withholding online.

If you are a resident of the State of Nebraska when receiving monthly retirement 
payments, NPERS will withhold Nebraska taxes from your benefit at the same with-
holding rate you select for federal taxes.

If you move and are no longer a resident of Nebraska, you need to submit an 
updated withholding form. Your benefit will be taxable in accordance of the laws of 
the state you move to. You may need to contact the Department of Revenue for the 
state you have moved to in order to determine tax liability and establish a payment 
process. NPERS can withhold Federal and Nebraska taxes, but not taxes due to 
another state.

Your retirement income will be reported to you on a 1099-R form each year in 
January for the payments received the prior year. A copy of that form will also be 
provided to the Internal Revenue Service. 
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NOTES

COMPENSATION
TIER ONE TIERS TWO/THREE/FOUR

At retirement, your three highest 
12-month periods of salary, counting 
back from the final month of pay, are 
used to determine your final average 
monthly compensation when calculating 
your benefit (for details regarding 
capping, see 8% Salary Cap).

At retirement, your five highest 
12-month periods of salary, counting 
back from the final month of pay, are 
used to determine your final average 
monthly compensation when calculating 
your benefit (for details regarding 
capping, see 8% Salary Cap).

Compensation means gross wages or salaries payable to the member for personal 
services performed during the School Plan year and includes overtime pay, member 
retirement contributions, retroactive salary payments paid pursuant to court order, 
arbitration or litigation and grievance settlements, and amounts contributed by the 
member to plans under §125, 403(b), and 457 of the Internal Revenue Code.

Compensation does not include fraudulently obtained amounts as determined by 
the retirement board, amounts for accrued unused sick leave or accrued unused 
vacation leave converted to cash payments, insurance premiums converted to cash 
payments, expense reimbursements or per diems paid for expenses, true fringe 
benefits, or bonuses for services not actually rendered, including, but not limited 
to, early retirement inducements, cash awards, severance pay, and employer 
contributions for purposes of separation payments made at retirement.
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8% SALARY CAP

Increases in compensation for plan members will be capped at 8% per year 
when calculating retirement benefits per Nebraska statute. No exceptions 
increasing the 8% cap will be allowed. For any reason, if you received a greater 
than 8% per year increase in any plan year (July 1 through June 30) salary from 
the base year (the plan year immediately preceding the capping year) over the 
five-year capping period, your highest twelve-month periods of compensation 
may include capped salary.

The capping period is the five plan years preceding the later of your 
retirement effective date or final compensation date. If one of your plan year 
salaries is capped during the five-year capping period, subsequent years within 
that period may also be capped. Salary for the plan year during the capping 
period is compared to the previous plan year’s actual salary or capped salary, 
whichever is less.

Therefore, if you received a substantial increase in salary within your most 
recent years of employment, your retirement benefit may be based upon 
capped salary, per Nebraska statute. There are no exceptions to capping.
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CREDITABLE SERVICE
The service credit used to calculate your benefit is defined per state statute. All 
employees must have their hours tracked every time they render service, at the time 
they render service, to ensure they receive the correct retirement benefit.

CREDITABLE SERVICE INCLUDES:
	�Hours worked
	�Used sick hours, used vacation hours, holidays, and any other leave hours for 
which you are paid regular wages as part of the agreement with your employer.
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CREDITABLE SERVICE DOES NOT INCLUDE:
	�Lump-sum payments to the employee upon termination or retirement in lieu of 
accrued benefits for such days

	�Eligibility and vesting credit

	�Service years for which member contributions are withdrawn and not repaid by 
the member

	�Service rendered for which the retirement board determines that the member 
was paid less in compensation than the minimum wage as provided in the 
Wage and Hour Act

	�Service which the board determines was rendered with the intent to defraud the 
retirement system

Accrual Rate
Service credit is accrued based on the total eligible hours worked.

SINCE JULY 1, 2002, THE FOLLOWING RULES APPLY:
	� If you work 1,000 or more hours in a plan year (July 1–June 30), you will 
receive one year of creditable service. 

	�You will receive fractional credit for the portion of the School Plan year worked 
based on 1/1000 of a year credit for each hour worked. Salaried employees 
who are part-time receive the same percentage of credit as their percentage of 
full-time equivalency.

RULES FROM JULY 1, 1986 TO JUNE 30, 2002
	� One year of creditable service was earned by working 1,032 or more hours 
during a plan year. For those working between 516 hours and 1,032 hours 
during a plan year, partial credit was given. No person working less than 516 
hours during a plan year earned service credit.

RULES PRIOR TO JULY 1, 1986:
	�One year of creditable service was earned on the basis of working full time for 
at least 120 days in a fiscal year. Under certain conditions, fractional years of 
service were granted for those working either part time or less than 120 days.
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Military Service
Members who are reemployed after qualified military service may be eligible for 
vesting and service credit for their period of military service. The employer shall 
be responsible for funding covered military service benefits including member 
and employer contributions for military service performed on or after July 1, 2017. 
Military service credit provisions only apply to service that falls within the definition 
of uniformed service per the Uniformed Services and Reemployment Rights Act of 
1994 (USERRA).

Members who wish to have their military service reviewed for potential service 
credit should file their request to NPERS in a timely fashion. Please contact NPERS 
for further assistance regarding eligibility, the application process, applicable time 
frames, and the documentation necessary to support such an agreement.

HEART ACT

Heroes Earnings Assistance and Relief Tax Act of 2008

For any member whose death occurs on or after January 1, 2007, while 
performing qualified military service, the Heroes Earnings Assistance and 
Relief Tax Act of 2008 (HEART Act) requires their beneficiary(ies) be entitled 
to any additional death benefit they would have received had the member 
been employed during the period of military service when the death occurred. 
For assistance, contact NPERS.

NOTES
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REPAYMENT OF REFUND 
INCREASING YOUR CREDITABLE SERVICE
There are several ways you can increase your creditable service through the payment 
of money to the School Plan. These fall into two categories:

Repayment of Refund Optional Service Credit

REPAYMENT OF REFUNDED SERVICE
There are two groups of members with different rules for purchasing refunded service:
1.	 Members hired or rehired on or after April 17, 2014: 
These members must elect to repay a refund and purchase refunded service within five 
years of returning to employment.
2.	 Members active on or before April 16, 2014 (Sunset Members):
These members had until April 16, 2020, or the date of their termination (whichever came 
first), to make an election to purchase refunded service. This window has closed, and no 
exceptions apply.
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Repayment of Refund 
Repaying a refund reinstates prior creditable service and if the refund is repaid in full, it will return 
you to your prior benefit tier status. In addition if this restored service includes any of your highest 
12-month periods of compensation, it will be used when calculating your final average compensation.

An application to repay a refund may be submitted on a one-time basis under the following conditions:

	� You must be a regular employee contributing to the School Plan. 
	� You must apply within the first five years of reemployment or prior to termination, 
whichever is earlier. 

	� Due to processing timelines, your Application for Purchase of Refunded Service form must 
be received by NPERS at least 60 days prior to the five-year or termination deadlines. 

	� If the refund is not repaid in full by the deadlines, service credit will be restored in proportion 
to the amount repaid.

Repayment costs are calculated based on the amount of the refund and the actuarial assumed 
rate of return that would have been earned on the funds from the time the refund was taken until 
it is repaid. For your convenience, you may estimate the cost using the refund repayment factors 
on the School “Plan Info” page on the NPERS website.
You may repay all or a portion of the refund. Your “oldest” years must be purchased first and 
you must purchase the exact amount of service credit earned in each fiscal year. If you wish 
to return to your prior benefit tier, you must repay the refund in full.

EXAMPLE
If you took a refund which erased three years of service credit:
Starting with the oldest service, you may elect a one-time repayment for one, 
two, or all three years.

STEPS TO REPAY A REFUND
Step 1 Submit a written request to NPERS at least 90 days in advance of the five-year or 

termination deadlines to request a refund repayment estimate. NPERS will calculate 
an estimated cost and send you the Application for Purchase of Refunded Service and 
Method of Payment forms. 

Step 2 Complete and submit the Application for Purchase of Refunded Service and Method of 
Payment forms to NPERS. These forms must be received at least 60 days prior to the 
five-year or termination deadline. Be aware this will be your one-time opportunity 
to elect repayment. NPERS will assign a payment due date and calculate a final cost 
based on the repayment option you selected. You will be notified by mail of this amount 
and the due date.

Step 3 Payment must be received in our office by the five-year or termination deadlines. 
Methods of payment are explained at the end of this section. Members who submit a 
repayment application within one year of the five-year or termination deadlines cannot 
utilize the payroll deduction option for repayment of a refund.

https://npers.ne.gov/SelfService/public/planInformation/school/SchoolRefundFactors2024.pdf
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Optional Service Credit

There are three types of optional service credit that may be purchased: 

1 LEAVE OF ABSENCE

A leave of absence is a sabbatical, maternity leave, exchange teaching program, full-time leave as 
an elected official of a professional association or collective bargaining unit or leave of absence 
to pursue further education or study. You may purchase service credit for a qualified leave of 
absence under these conditions:

	�You must be a regular employee contributing to the School Plan.

	�The leave of absence must be authorized by your board of education or the school district. 

	�You may purchase time equal to the leave which cannot exceed four years in length.

	�You must return to employment at a participating school plan employer within one year 
after completing the leave of absence.

	� Interest Based Purchase - If you were employed or under contract on or prior to July 
19, 1996, have not changed employers since that date and elect to pay for your leave of 
absence within three years of returning from the leave, you must pay the required depos-
its of both the employee and employer that would have been made on your behalf if you 
had not taken the leave of absence, plus interest that would have accrued on the depos-
its, based on your compensation for the period immediately prior to the leave of absence. 

	�Actuarial Based Purchase - If you were hired or rehired after July 19, 1996, you will pay 
the actuarial cost to the School Plan for allowing the additional service credit. 

In all cases, the creditable service purchased for a leave of absence will be used to calculate your 
retirement benefit, but the salary associated with the service cannot be used in the calculation.
The leave of absence must be verified before NPERS can provide a purchase cost to you.

2 OUT OF STATE/OMAHA PUBLIC SCHOOLS SERVICE

You may purchase credit for public school service outside of Nebraska or in the Omaha Public 
Schools under these conditions: 

	�You are a regular employee, contributing to the School Plan.
	�Credit is limited to the amount of service forfeited, up to a maximum of 10 years.
	�Credit is limited to an amount equal to your total creditable service acquired in 
Nebraska upon termination.

	�You must provide proof of forfeiture of benefits in order to purchase service.
	�You must pay the actuarial cost to the School Plan for the additional service credit.
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The service purchased will be used when calculating your retirement benefit, but the 
salary associated with the out of state service will not be used in the calculation.
Your out-of-state or Omaha Public School service must be verified before NPERS 
can provide a purchase cost to you.

2 TWELVE-MONTH PRERETIREMENT SERVICE PURCHASE

You may purchase up to five additional years of service credit in contemplation of retirement. 
To qualify, all of the following conditions must be met:

	�You are a regular employee contributing to the School Plan.

	� If you joined the School Plan before July 1, 2014, you must have a minimum of 
five years of earned creditable service. If you joined the School Plan on or after 
July 1, 2014, you must have a minimum of ten years of earned creditable service. 
Earned service credit does not include vesting credit (see Eligibility/Vesting).

	�At the time you purchase the service, you must have entered a written agreement 
that you will retire within 12 months of the day of the agreement.

	� If you do not terminate employment and begin receiving benefits, within 12 months 
from the date of your service purchase agreement, the purchase will be cancelled 
and all payments returned, excluding any interest earned.

	�The cost of the service purchase is the actuarial cost to the School Plan for allow-
ing the additional service credit and must be paid for by the School Plan member. 

Payments must be completed prior to termination.

NOTES
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STEPS TO PURCHASE OPTIONAL SERVICE CREDIT

Step 1 Contact NPERS in writing and indicate type and amount of service you 
wish to purchase. Due to the time frames involved, NPERS recommends 
initiating requests to purchase optional service credit no less than 12 
months prior to termination.

Step 2 NPERS will calculate an estimated cost and send you the Application for 
Purchase of Service and Method of Payment forms. You can get a rough 
estimate of the cost to purchase out of state or 12-month preretirement 
service credit by utilizing the optional service credit estimator on the 
NPERS website.

Step 3 Complete and submit the Application for Purchase of Service and 
Method of Payment forms to NPERS no less than 60 days prior to your 
last day of employment. If this paperwork is not received by the 60th day 
prior to termination, you will not be allowed to purchase service credit. 

Step 4 You will be notified by mail of the final purchase price and payment due date.

Step 5 Payment must be received in our office by the due date or prior to termi-
nation – whichever is earlier.

Methods of Payment to the School Plan 
You may make payment(s) to the School Plan through after-tax direct payments or 
installment payments, after-tax payroll deductions or rollover payments. Payment 
options may be restricted in order to satisfy statutorily mandated deadlines. Personal 
checks are not accepted. 

As payment, you may use a rollover from another qualified 401(a) plan [including a 
401(k) plan], a 403(a) or (b) Tax Sheltered Annuity Account, a 457(b) Eligible Deferred 
Compensation Plan or a 408(a) Individual Retirement Account. You may also use a 
trustee-to-trustee transfer from a 457 deferred compensation plan. 

Payments made to purchase service on an after-tax basis will be subject to contribution 
limits under §415 of the Internal Revenue Code. §415 limits do not apply to repayment 
of refund. You may wish to consult with a tax professional for assistance.

https://npers.ne.gov/SelfService/public/schoolPOSEstimator/schoolPOSEstTerms.jsp
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ELIGIBILITY/VESTING
Members must be vested in order to be eligible for a monthly retirement benefit. 
Unvested members are only eligible for a refund consisting of their contributions, 
plus interest.

VESTING PROVISIONS

There are two vesting provisions, per state statute:
	�Accruing five years of service credit in the Nebraska Public School 
Retirement plan

	�Working at a participating employer up to age 65 with at least half a year of 
service credit

IMPORTANT

The half a year vesting provision at age 65 will not apply to a member 
who joined the School Plan on or after July 1, 2016, or a member who 
has taken a refund or retirement and returns to plan participation on or 
after July 1, 2016.

Vesting Credit
Within the first 180 days of employment, a school employee may apply to NPERS 
for eligibility and vesting credit for years of participation in another Nebraska govern-
mental plan, as defined by §414(d) of the Internal Revenue Code.

IMPORTANT

Vesting credit is not “service credit.” It will not be included as credit-
able service in your retirement benefit calculation but instead is used 
to determine eligibility/vesting.

Your employer should provide you with an Application for Eligibility and Vesting 
Credit form at the time of your initial employment. To be considered, your 
completed application must be received by NPERS within 180 days of your 
employment. There are no exceptions. If you fail to apply for vesting credit within 
this time frame, you are not eligible for vesting credit.

During the years of participation in another Nebraska governmental plan, you must 
have been a full-time or a part-time employee.
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EXAMPLES OF NEBRASKA GOVERNMENTAL EMPLOYMENT

	�State government
	�Municipal government
	�Public power district

	�Law enforcement
	�County government
	�State university or state college

Employment that would not qualify would be federal government, out-of-state 
university or college, and any non-governmental employment.

IMPORTANT

If you are moving from one participating School Plan employer to 
another, you do not need to submit a vesting credit form.

NOTES
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RETIREMENT: AGE
Once vested, your age will determine if you are eligible to begin receiving monthly bene-
fits and if those benefits are reduced.

IMPORTANT

There are three important points to remember:
	�NPERS will calculate benefits using your age on your effective date 
of retirement rather than your age when you ceased employment.

	�Benefits are calculated based on the law in effect at the time you 
terminate employment. 

	�Reduced versus unreduced? In some instances taking benefits early 
can be a strategic financial move depending on your specific situa-
tion. For examples to help illustrate this, please see the September 
2023 Retirement Newsletter on our website.

Age 65: Unreduced Normal Retirement 
“Normal” retirement age is age 65. Vested members are eligible to receive an unreduced 
retirement benefit at age 65. Monthly benefits will not increase once a vested and termi-
nated member reaches the age/status when they can draw an unreduced benefit.

Rule of 85: Unreduced Early Retirement
TIERS ONE/TWO/THREE
At ages 55 to 64, you may qualify to receive unreduced benefits under the “Rule of 85” if 
your attained age (years plus months) plus your creditable service equals 85 or greater.

EXAMPLE: 55 YEARS OF AGE, 30 YEARS OF SERVICE

55
Years of Age + 30

Years of Service = 85
There is no early retirement reduction of your benefit.

https://npers.ne.gov/SelfService/public/newsletter/SJP-September-Newsletter-2023-08.pdf
https://npers.ne.gov/SelfService/public/newsletter/SJP-September-Newsletter-2023-08.pdf
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EXAMPLE: 58 YEARS OF AGE, 27 YEARS OF SERVICE

58
Years of Age + 27

Years of Service = 85
Eligible for an unreduced retirement benefit.

If you have partial years of service credit, NPERS will use your attained age to 
determine eligibility for the “Rule of 85.” 

EXAMPLE: 55 YEARS, 6 MONTHS OF AGE, 29.5 YEARS OF SERVICE

55.5
Years of Age + 29.5

Years of Service = 85
Eligible for an unreduced retirement benefit.

TIER FOUR
At ages 60 to 64, you may qualify to receive unreduced benefits under the Tier Four 
“Rule of 85” if your attained age (years plus months) plus your creditable service 
equals 85 or greater.

EXAMPLE: 60 YEARS OF AGE, 25 YEARS OF SERVICE

60
Years of Age + 25

Years of Service = 85
There is no early retirement reduction of your benefit.

EXAMPLE: 63 YEARS OF AGE, 22 YEARS OF SERVICE

63
Years of Age + 22

Years of Service = 85
You are eligible for an unreduced retirement benefit.

If you have partial years of service credit, NPERS will use your attained age to 
determine eligibility for the “Rule of 85.”
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EXAMPLE: 60.5 YEARS OF AGE, 24.5 YEARS OF SERVICE

60.5
Years of Age + 24.5

Years of Service = 85
If you have 24.5 years of service, you will meet the “Rule of 85” once you 
attain the age of 60 and six months.

Early Retirement At Age 60: Reduced 
You may qualify to receive a reduced retirement benefit as early as age 60 if you 
have five or more years of creditable service. 
There will be a permanent 3% per year reduction for each year your attained age 
(years plus months) is less than age 65. 

ATTAINED AGE
(MUST BE AT LEAST 60)

CREDITABLE 
SERVICE

BENEFIT 
REDUCTION

60 24 YEARS OR LESS 15%
61 23 YEARS OR LESS 12%
62 22 YEARS OR LESS 9%
63 21 YEARS OR LESS 6%
64 20 YEARS OR LESS 3%

RETIREMENT: EFFECTIVE DATE
An “effective date” is the starting point when your monthly retirement benefits commence.

EFFECTIVE DATE

The effective date of your retirement will be the first day of the month following:
	�The date your school employment terminates (see the WARNING message 
on the following page regarding contracted employees); 
 AND

	� the date your completed Application for Retirement is received by NPERS; 
AND

	� the date your age and service allow eligibility for benefits.
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WARNING
If you do not file your application for retirement with NPERS in a 
timely manner in accordance with these requirements, it will result 
in a loss of benefit payments. If you have questions about how 
your effective date of retirement is established, please contact 
NPERS for clarification.

EXAMPLE: DETERMINING EFFECTIVE DATE

If you are age 55, have 30 years of service and your school employment 
terminates May 25, your effective date would be June 1 (provided your 
application has been received prior to June 1). 

55
Years of Age

+ 30
Years of Service

+ 5/25
Termination

= 6/1
Effective Date

However, if you have 30 years of service, your school employment 
terminates May 25, but you do not turn age 55 until June 15, your 
effective date would be July 1. If you were to inadvertently wait until 
September to submit your completed application to NPERS, your effec-
tive date would be October 1, and you would have lost benefit payments 
for July, August and September. 

Nebraska law mandates that it is the responsibility of your employer(s) to notify 
NPERS of the date of your termination by submitting Non-Contributing Member 
Termination Information. NPERS has no control over the timeliness of your school 
system’s non-contributing termination reporting, and NPERS cannot issue a benefit 
without the termination information reported by your employer(s). 

IMPORTANT

Nebraska law states if you are a contracted employee, you must 
have an employment contract with your employer, this includes 
extended duty or extra days contracts, and that contracts MUST 
include a beginning and end date to your contractual obligations. If 
no contract(s) exists, NPERS must provide a definitely determinable 
benefit based on the facts and circumstances of your work history. 
Please note, your contract end date, not your last day of work, 
determines your termination date, unless your last day of work is 
after your contractual end date.
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You must incur a bona fide termination in order to begin drawing your retirement 
benefit. You can expect your first payment approximately three (3) months after 
your effective date of retirement provided NPERS has received all necessary 
documentation. For instance, if your effective date of retirement is June 1st, your 
first benefit payment will be processed approximately three (3) months AFTER that 
date. This means your approximate first payment would be at the end of August. 
PLEASE KEEP IN MIND, during peak summer months, such as June, July, and 
August, processing times could be longer due to the volume of retirees. No matter 
when you actually receive your first payment, it will be retroactive to your effective 
date of retirement.  

	� If the school has reported your total hours and submitted all contributions 
at the time NPERS processes your account, we will process your benefit 
payment as a final monthly retirement benefit. Please keep in mind, if your 
employer payment agreement  states you will receive employer payments 
through June, July, and August, the soonest NPERS will receive final reporting 
may be some time in September, or even October if your school system 
reports to NPERS two months in arrears. NPERS has no control over your 
school system’s reporting schedule, or if they report on time. Unfortunately, 
school reporting can determine the timeliness of benefit payments to retirees. 

	� If the school has reported your total hours but not yet submitted 
all contributions to NPERS, we may be able to process a 95% 
“preliminary” monthly retirement benefit. If your account is processed 
as a preliminary benefit payment, NPERS will recalculate your monthly 
retirement benefit after you have received an equivalent of five months of 
benefit payments. Under certain circumstances, such as a salary dispute or 
an extended contract situation, it may be more than five months before the 
recalculation occurs. The recalculation will include all salary and contribution 
information received from the school and will finalize your monthly retirement. 
Recalculation of your benefit may change your monthly benefit amount. 

NOTES
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RETIREMENT: APPLICATION PROCESS
IMPORTANT

It is your responsibility to contact NPERS and request benefit estimates 
and a retirement packet, so you may apply for your benefit! Retirement 
benefits will not start automatically. Delaying your application may 
result in a partial or complete loss of pension benefits!
A partial loss may occur when you have reached age 65 and have 
already terminated. Your retirement benefit is not like Social Security. 
Once you’ve reached the age of 65 and terminated, please ensure 
you have secured your earliest retirement date possible so you do not 
miss out on any months of benefits after you turn age 65. 
A complete loss of benefits will occur if you reach your required 
minimum distribution (RMD) age and fail to begin a benefit before your 
initial RMD payment is due to the IRS. Please ensure you understand 
your RMD age, and when NPERS must receive an application for 
retirement if you have reached your RMD age. Unfortunately, there 
is nothing NPERS can do to retain your lifetime benefit if you violate 
the IRS laws regarding RMD payments. (See Required Minimum 
Distribution section)

STEPS TO TAKE BEFORE YOU RETIRE

Step 1 Request your retirement benefit estimates and retirement packet. 
Contact NPERS in writing or by telephone at least three months 
before your anticipated retirement/effective date to avoid delays 
in payment. If you contact NPERS in writing, please include your 
name, phone number, home address, Social Security number, 
employer/position, and your anticipated date of termination. If 
you wish to include estimated benefits for either the Spousal or 
Non-Spousal Joint and Survivor options, please include the name 
and date of birth of the individual you intend to select as your bene-
ficiary (see Retirement: Benefit Payment Options).
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Step 2 NPERS will verify your salary and service history, and create 
an estimate of benefits based on your current account status. 
NPERS will send you a Retirement Packet. This packet will 
contain your estimate of benefits and the paperwork you need 
to complete including the Application for Retirement form. Final 
benefit amounts will be determined when your employer submits 
your final salary and service data to our office, and your retirement 
application is received by NPERS.

Step 3 Complete and return your Application for Retirement to NPERS 
preferably 30 days, but no more than 120 days prior to your 
effective date of retirement. You may file your application by 
mail or in person. Please ensure you review your application 
before submission. Your application packet includes a checklist 
of common errors for you to review. If you submit an invalid 
application, NPERS cannot guarantee your requested effective 
date until we receive a valid application for retirement.

WARNING
Regardless of how you file, please note: NPERS 
cannot accept an application earlier than 120 days 
prior to your effective date and will send a new appli-
cation for you to resubmit.

Step 4 Every member must verify their age by providing NPERS a legible 
copy of your Certificate of Birth. If your birth certificate was not 
recorded before you were age five, you will need to submit an 
additional document to prove your age. Contact NPERS for a list 
of additional documents allowed. If you choose a Joint & Survivor 
Annuity option, you must provide proof of age for your survivor 
annuitant of choice. Please prepare in advance for proof of age 
before you submit retirement paperwork. 

NOTES
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ACCEPTABLE METHODS OF PROOF
If proof is required in order to ensure the proper distribution of benefits to a member or the beneficiary of a member, 
the type(s) of proof listed below will be necessary for NPERS to make the legally-required factual determination.

To Prove Age
Preferred Methods of Proof
	 1.	 A birth certificate recorded before age 5 (which 

has a filing date and signature of the local 
Registrar is required or two proofs will be 
needed.)  (See other proof)

	 2.	 A religious record of birth or baptism recorded 
before age 5.  (requires church official signature)

	 3.	 A delayed birth certificate.

Other Methods of Proof 
Two or more forms must be provided.
	 1.	 Hospital birth record or certificate.
	 2.	 Notification of registration of birth made before 

age 5.
	 3.	 Physician’s or midwife’s birth records.
	 4.	 Bible or other family record.
	 5.	 Naturalization record.
	 6.	 Military record.
	 7.	 Immigration record.
	 8.	 Passport.
	 9.	 Selective service registration record.
	10.	 Employer’s record.  Signed by Employer.
	11.	 Marriage record.
	12.	 A statement signed by the individual giving 

the reason why he or she cannot obtain other 
convincing evidence of age and the sworn state-
ments of two other persons who have personal 
knowledge of the age that the individual is trying 
to prove.

To Prove Social  
Security Number
Preferred Methods of Proof
	 1.	 Legible copy of the official Social Security Card.
	 2.	 Official Communication from the Social Security 

Administration on their official agency letterhead.

Other Methods of Proof 
	 1.	 Official communication from the Internal 

Revenue Service, United States Military or 
Immigration and Naturalization Service on their 
official agency letterhead.

To Prove Death
Preferred Methods of Proof
	 1.	 A certified copy of or extract from the public 

record of death, or verdict of the coroner’s jury 
of the state or community where the death oc-
curred; or a certificate or statement of death 
issued by a local registrar or public health official.

	 2.	 A signed statement of the funeral director, at-
tending physician, or official of an institution 
where death occurred.

	 3.	 A certified copy of, or extract from, an official 
report or finding of death made by an agency or 
department of the United States or any state.

	 4.	 If death occurred outside the United States, an 
official report of death by a United States Consul 
or other authorized employee of the United 
States Department of State, or a certified copy of 
the public record of death in a foreign country.

Other Methods of Proof 
	 1.	 The individual who must furnish evidence of 

death will be asked to explain the reason thereof 
and to submit other convincing evidence, such 
as sworn statements of at least two persons who 
have personal knowledge of the death.  These 
persons must be able to swear to the date, time, 
place, and cause of death.

To Prove a Valid Marriage
Preferred Methods of Proof
	 1.	 A copy of the public record of the marriage, 

certified by the custodian of the record or by an 
NPERS employee.

	 2.	 A copy of a religious record of the marriage 
certified by the custodian of the record or by an 
NPERS employee.

	 3.	 The original certificate of marriage.

Other Methods of Proof 
	 1.	 A sworn statement of the clergyperson or official 

who performed the marriage ceremony.
	 2.	 Other convincing evidence, such as the sworn 

statements or at least two persons who have 
direct knowledge of the marriage, preferably 
eyewitnesses to the marriage ceremony.
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To Prove That a  
Marriage Has Ended
Preferred Methods of Proof
	 1.	 A certified copy of the decree of divorce or 

annulment.
	 2.	 Evidence of the death (see To Prove Death) of a 

party to the marriage.

Other Methods of Proof 
	 1.	 The marriage has ended cannot be obtained, the 

member or beneficiary must explain the reason 
therefore and submit other convincing evidence 
that the marriage has ended.

To Prove Parent-Child 
Relationships
Preferred Methods of Proof
	 1.	 A copy of the member’s or child’s public or reli-

gious birth record made before the child was 5.  
If the record shows the same last name, it will be 
accepted as valid.

Other Methods of Proof 
	 1.	 Proof of the member’s marriage or of the mar-

riage of the member’s parents, if needed to 
remove any reasonable doubt of the relationship.

	 2.	 Proof that the person claiming to be a child of the 
presumed parent would be able to inherit under 
intestate succession laws of the state where the 
death occurred (or in which the presumed parent 
had a permanent home)

	 3.	 A signed statement from the presumed parent 
that the person in question is his or her natural 
child.

	 4.	 A copy of a court order showing that the person 
in question has been declared to be the child of 
the presumed parent, or a copy of a court order 
requiring the presumed parent in question to 
contribute to the support of the person in ques-
tion because such person is his or her child.

	 5.	 Or other such supporting evidence may be 
required in order to establish the parent/child 
relationship.

To Prove Stepparent-
Stepchild Relationships
Preferred Methods of Proof

	 1.	 Proof may be determined by NPERS by means 
of the proof required under To Prove That A 
Marriage Has Ended to show a child’s relation-
ship (natural or adoptive) with the spouse of the 
presumed stepparent and that a valid marriage 
existed between the presumed stepparent and 
the spouse.

To Prove a Parent-Child 
Relationship By Legal 
Adoption
Preferred Methods of Proof
	 1.	 A copy of the decree or order of adoption, certi-

fied by the custodian of the record.
	 2.	 A photocopy of the decree or order of adoption.
	 3.	 Evidence that the spouse of a decedent adopted 

the children of the decedent after the decedent’s 
death, as specified in the above two subsections.

Other Methods of Proof 
	 1.	 In the event that the record of adoption is sealed 

by court order or by law, NPERS will accept as 
proof of adoption an official notice received by 
the adoption parents at the time of adoption 
that the adoption has been completed or a birth 
certificate issued as a result of the adoption 
proceeding.
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COST-OF-LIVING ADJUSTMENT (COLA)
After you have been retired for at least one full fiscal year, your benefit will be reviewed for 
a COLA each July 1. This increase will be determined using the Consumer Price Index for 
Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) during the previous fiscal year.

COLA provisions vary depending on tier status.

TIER ONE:
Your COLA is capped at 2.5%. If the CPI-W is 2.5% or less, you will receive the CPI-W, 
but if the CPI-W is higher than 2.5%, your COLA will be 2.5%.

Any time inflation erodes the value of your retirement benefit below 75% of the original 
purchasing power, your COLA for that fiscal year will be the amount of the CPI-W rate. 
The 2.5% cap does not apply to the 75% purchasing power COLA.

TIERS TWO/THREE/FOUR:
Your COLA is capped at 1.0%. If the CPI-W is 1.0% or less, you will receive the 
CPI-W, but if the CPI-W is higher than 1.0%, your COLA will be 1.0%. There is no 
75% purchasing power COLA provision.
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RMD AGES
Legislation changes over the past few 

depending on when you were born.

If you were born  
 

your RMD age is 70½
 

If you were born  
  

but 
your RMD age is 72

If you were born  
              

but 
your RMD age is 73

If you were born  

your RMD age is 75
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RETIREMENT BENEFIT PAYMENT OPTIONS
You will receive a retirement benefit for your lifetime regardless of the benefit payment option 
(annuity) you select.  

ANNUITY 
OPTION 

1
Life Only Annuity – Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime with no refund or death 
benefit.  There is no beneficiary designation under this option.  

ANNUITY 
OPTION 

2

Modified Cash Refund Annuity – Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime.  If you 
die before receiving payments equal to your accumulated retirement account balance at 
retirement, the remaining amount will be paid in a lump sum to your beneficiary(ies) or 
estate.  You may list as many beneficiaries as you wish, and you may change these benefi-
ciaries at any time after retirement.

ANNUITY 
OPTION 

3

Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime with a potential death benefit based on a time 
frame to your beneficiary(ies) or estate.  You may list as many beneficiaries as you wish and 
change them at any time.

5-Year
Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime, with a guarantee that if you die 
before receiving 60 payments, the remaining monthly payments will be paid to your 
beneficiary(ies) or estate.

10-Year
Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime, with a guarantee that if you die 
before receiving 120 payments, the remaining monthly payments will be paid to 
your beneficiary(ies) or estate

15-Year
Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime, with a guarantee that if you die 
before receiving 180 payments, the remaining monthly payments will be paid to 
your beneficiary(ies) or estate.

ANNUITY 
OPTION 

4

Joint and Survivor Annuity – Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime, and a 
percentage of that benefit to your spouse after your death.  You must list only your spouse 
as beneficiary and should he/she predecease you, you cannot select another beneficiary.  
NPERS will require legible proof of age for your spouse and a legible certified copy of your 
marriage license.  (This option is not available to an Alternate Payee.  For a definition of 
alternate payee, see “Spousal Pension Rights Act.”)

50% Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime.  When you die, your surviving 
spouse will receive 50% of your benefit, paid monthly for his/her lifetime.  

75% Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime.  When you die, your surviving 
spouse will receive 75% of your benefit, paid monthly for his/her lifetime.  

100% Provides a monthly payment for your lifetime.  When you die, your surviving 
spouse will receive 100% of your benefit, paid monthly for his/her lifetime.  

ANNUITY 
OPTION 

5
Non-Spousal Joint and Survivor Annuity – Provides a monthly payment for your life-
time.  When you die, your surviving beneficiary will receive 50% of your benefit, paid 
monthly for his/her lifetime.  You may designate only one person as your permanent 
beneficiary (this cannot be your spouse) and  you cannot change this beneficiary after 
commencement of the benefit.  NPERS will require legible proof of age of your beneficiary.  
(This option is not available to an Alternate Payee.  For a definition of alternate payee, see 
“Spousal Pension Rights Act.”) 

WARNING
You cannot change your payment option AFTER your effective date of retirement.  Before 
you make your selection, we suggest you obtain your personal estimates of benefit amounts by 
contacting NPERS or using the benefit estimator on the website at npers.ne.gov.  
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REEMPLOYMENT
IMPORTANT

State statute and federal tax code regulations stipulate a member 
MUST incur a bona fide termination of employment in order to 
receive a refund or retirement benefit. If it is determined a reem-
ployed member did not incur a bona fide termination of employ-
ment, benefits will be suspended, and the member shall be required 
to repay all refunds or benefits plus interest.

Per Nebraska Statute, a member shall not be deemed to have incurred a bona fide 
termination if they provide service (paid or voluntary) for any School Plan employers 
combined within their 180-day separation period other than the allowed 8 calendar 
days of substitute or voluntary service in a calendar month.

A “calendar day” means any length of voluntary and/or substitute service provided 
during a single day (whether that is 5 minutes or 8 hours of service). For more informa-
tion regarding this type of service refer to our School Plan LB 198 Frequently Asked 
Questions document regarding changes to the termination of employment rules, avail-
able on our website. If you still have questions regarding reemployment and the compli-
ance with the termination of employment rules, contact NPERS.

PLEASE BE AWARE: Employers may classify a position as a substitute position, 
when it is not (for retirement purposes). As the member, you will be the one respon-
sible to repay your benefit if you have not had a bona fide termination. Make sure 
that the substitute service you provide during the 180-day separation period is true 
substitute service as defined under the Ineligibility section in the School Handbook. 
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Avoid Return-to-Employment Violations
Members can face serious consequences due to misunderstandings about reemploy-
ment rules with their employers. To help protect your retirement benefits (annuity or 
refund), it’s crucial for YOU to ensure compliance with the rules regarding substitute 
positions and bona fide termination.
To avoid any termination violation, you may choose to simply refrain from providing any 
type of service to a school plan employer during the 180-day separation period. If you 
must provide service during this period, please take the following steps to ensure that 
any substitute service you provide during the required 180-day separation period meets 
the official criteria:

What You Should Do 
1.	 Ask the employer who you are substituting for. Confirm that you are filling in 

for a regular employee who is temporarily absent.
2.	 Verify that you are not filling in for a vacant position.. 
3.	 Check for on-call roles. Avoid positions where employees sign up for shifts, 

such as ticket-taking or activity driving roles, as these are not considered substi-
tute service. 

4.	 Avoid “extra help” service. Do not provide service that is considered “extra 
help” outside of a bona fide substitute position.

WARNING

Federal law prohibits an employee and employer from prearranging 
ANY return to employment or service at an employer participating 
in the School Plan during or before the 180-day separation period. 
Reemployment in the same position, even after the 180-day separation 
period, could appear as a prearranged return to service. This includes 
seasonal extra-duty services such as coaching. These arrangements are 
considered a “sham termination.” If at any time it is determined a sham 
termination has occurred, benefits will be suspended and all benefits 
previously issued must be repaid, including interest. The repayment of 
a benefit can have catastrophic affects in retirement. If you have any 
questions regarding a return to employment ensure you contact NPERS 
to verify you are not violating employment laws.
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Reemployment Before Retirement

If you have previously taken a refund:
You may repay the total amount and reestablish your prior service credit. If you 
choose to not repay the refund, you will reenter the system as a new member 
(see Repayment of Refund). Members can face serious consequences due to 
misunderstandings about reemployment rules with their employers. If you have 
taken a distribution, it is crucial for YOU to ensure compliance with the rules 
regarding a bona fide termination to avoid costly repayment issues. If you have 
questions or need clarification, do not hesitate to reach out to NPERS for assistance.

If you have NOT previously taken a refund:
The new service credit you acquire will be added to your previous service when 
determining total “creditable service” for retirement purposes.

WARNING
If you have terminated employment and taken a refund, your previous 
beneficiary designation(s) is void and you must complete and submit 
to NPERS a new Beneficiary Designation form. 
(See Beneficiary Designation section.)

Reemployment After Retirement
If you return to employment after fulfilling the requirements for a bona fide termina-
tion and meet membership requirements, you will return to plan participation as a new 
member. Retirement contributions will be withheld from your compensation and you will 
receive service credit for service commencing from the date of eligibility. Your tier of 
participation will be based on the date you returned to plan participation. You should fill 
out a new Beneficiary Designation Form for your new account when you return to work.

IMPORTANT

If you provide service other than intermittent voluntary and/or substitute 
service, at any participating employer prior to 180 calendar days from your 
termination date, you must notify NPERS of your return to service. Members 
can face serious consequences due to misunderstandings about reemploy-
ment rules with their employers. If you have taken a distribution, it is crucial 
for YOU to ensure compliance with the rules regarding a bona fide termina-
tion to avoid costly repayment issues. If you have questions or need clarifica-
tion, do not hesitate to reach out to NPERS for assistance.
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DEATH BENEFITS
Death Benefit After Receiving Retirement Benefits
Your beneficiary(ies) or estate will be eligible for any payments remaining under the 
retirement option you selected when you retired. Proof of death is required before 
payment can be made.

Death Benefit Before Receiving Retirement Benefits
Your benefits will go to your named, primary beneficiary(ies). Your benefits will go to 
your named, contingent beneficiary(ies) only if all your primary beneficiary(ies) have 
predeceased you. NPERS does not observe the passing of benefits to heir(s) of 
deceased beneficiary(ies) per stirpes (see Beneficiary Designation).

IMPORTANT
The spousal death benefits will apply ONLY if you have submitted 
a beneficiary form to NPERS designating your spouse as your sole, 
primary beneficiary.

If you die while employed with the public school system, your school district should 
notify NPERS and complete noncontributing termination (death) information as soon as 
possible. NPERS will send the necessary forms to the beneficiary(ies) you have listed.

General Beneficiary(ies) Options
If you die prior to retirement, your estate or named beneficiary(ies), other than a 
surviving spouse (see below for spouse’s options), will receive a lump-sum refund of 
your contributions plus accumulated interest. RMD requirements apply (see Taxation).

Surviving Spouse’s Options
If you die prior to retirement and have designated your spouse as the sole, 
primary beneficiary by submitting a beneficiary form to NPERS, the following 
options are available:

If you die with 20 or 
more years of creditable 

service… OR You are age 65  
or older…
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YOUR SURVIVING SPOUSE MAY CHOOSE:
AN

NU
IT

Y 
OP

TI
ON

Provided your spouse applies to NPERS within 12 months of the date of 
your death, they may select a monthly retirement annuity benefit, paid for the 
rest of their life under a 100% Joint and Survivorship option. The benefit is 
effective on the date of your death, regardless of your age at death, and will 
not be reduced for early retirement. NPERS will require legible proof of age 
for your spouse and a legible certified copy of your marriage license. 

If the 12‑month deadline is not met, your spouse will receive a refund 
consisting of your contributions plus accumulated interest. 

OR THEY MAY CHOOSE:

RE
FU

ND
 O

PT
IO

N

Provided your spouse applies to NPERS within 12 months of the date 
of your death, they may elect to receive a lump sum refund of your 
contributions plus interest AND an additional amount equal to 101% of 
your contributions plus interest. If you terminated prior to May 1, 2001, 
or the 12 month deadline is not met, your spouse will receive a refund 
consisting of your contributions plus accumulated interest.

If you die with 5 or more 
years of creditable service 
but less than 20 years of 

creditable service…
AND You are younger 

than age 65 at 
death...

YOUR SURVIVING SPOUSE MAY CHOOSE:

AN
NU

IT
Y 

OP
TI

ON

Provided you were employed in a Nebraska public school on or after 
May 1, 2001, and your spouse applies to NPERS within 12 months 
of the date of your death, they may select a monthly retirement annuity 
benefit, paid for the rest of their life under a 100% Joint and Survivorship 
option. The annuity will be reduced for early retirement. NPERS will 
require legible proof of age for your spouse and a legible certified copy 
of your marriage license.

If this deadline is not met, your spouse will receive a refund only of your 
contributions plus accumulated interest. 
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OR they may choose:
RE

FU
ND

 O
PT

IO
N Provided you were employed in a Nebraska public school on or after May 

1, 2001, and your spouse applies to NPERS within 12 months of the 
date of your death, they may elect to receive a lump sum refund of your 
contributions plus interest AND an additional amount equal to 101% of 
your contributions plus interest. If you terminated prior to May 1, 2001, 
or the 12 month deadline is not met, your spouse will receive a refund 
consisting of your contributions plus accumulated interest.

If you die with less than 
5 years of creditable 

service… AND You are younger 
than age 65 at 

death…

YOUR SURVIVING SPOUSE WILL RECEIVE:

	�  A lump-sum refund of your contributions plus accumulated interest.

All or part of a death benefit refund may be rolled over or transferred to another 
eligible retirement plan or IRA (Traditional or Roth). 

IMPORTANT

	� If you die after your effective date of retirement, NPERS will pay the 
benefits under the designated retirement payment option on your 
Application for Retirement (see Retirement: Benefit Payment Options).

	�Proof of death is required before death benefit payments can be made.
	�Once a beneficiary begins receiving a benefit, upon the beneficiary’s 
death any remaining benefit will be paid to the beneficiary’s estate. 
Designations per stirpes are not observed. 

	�NPERS recommends your beneficiary notify our office of your death as 
soon as possible. This is especially important if, at the time of your death, 
you were not actively employed in a public school and had deferred your 
retirement benefit.
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Last First Middle Maiden

Name Date of Birth

Address City State  Zip

Home Phone Work Phone Employer

Social Security Number Email Address

Plan Type
(Check all that apply)

 School
 Omaha
 State
 County
 Judges
 Patrol
 DCP

Beneficiary Designation Form
READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING: Benefits will be paid to your survivors exactly as you provide on this form. This form 
supersedes prior beneficiary designation forms. If you name a trust or other legal entity as your beneficiary, include the name of both the trust and 
the trustee. Submit the original document only; photocopies and faxes will not be accepted. If you wish to designate more than five beneficiaries 
in either the Primary or Contingent category, you must attach a supplemental form(s) and indicate the number of additional pages here. _______
PRIMARY BENEFICIARY(IES): I designate the following person(s) to be my Primary Beneficiary(ies) for the Retirement Plan noted 
above. All Primary Beneficiaries designated will share equally in the benefit unless I have included a percentage (%) amount on the line 
following the date of birth below. (The shares of all Primary Beneficiaries must total 100%.) PLEASE PRINT.

NPERS 1300            Rev. 08/2024 Page 1 of ___

BAR CODE

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

CONTINGENT BENEFICIARY(IES): I designate the following person(s) to be my Contingent Beneficiary(ies) for the Retirement Plan 
noted above. I understand my Contingent Beneficiary(ies) will receive a share of my benefit if all Primary Beneficiaries pre-decease me or 
refuse their shares of the benefit. All Contingent Beneficiaries designated will share equally in the benefit unless I have included a percentage 
(%) amount on the line following the date of birth below. (The shares of all Contingent Beneficiaries must total 100%.) PLEASE PRINT.

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

SIGNATURE OF MEMBER ____________________________________________________ Date ____________________

I hereby certify that the above member, whose identity I have established to my own 
satisfaction, freely and voluntarily signed this beneficiary designation form in my presence.

State of ______________________________

County of_____________________________

Subscribed and sworn before me this ______ day of ___________________ , ____________ .

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE _____________________________________ My commission expires: ____________________

Stamp Here

Sam
ple
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Beneficiary Designation Supplemental Form
IMPORTANT: This form is to be used as a supplement to the Beneficiary Designation Form only if you wish to designate more than 
five Primary or Contingent Beneficiaries. You may use as many Supplemental forms as needed. This form will NOT be accepted 
without the original, notarized Beneficiary Designation Form.

NAME ____________________________________________________________________________________________

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER  __________ - ______ - _____________

PRIMARY BENEFICIARY(IES) (continued):
Fill in a percentage amount (%), for all persons designated below (the shares of all primary beneficiaries must total 100%, 
including those listed on page 1). If all beneficiaries are to share equally, no percentage needs to be listed. PLEASE PRINT.

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

CONTINGENT BENEFICIARY(IES) (continued):
Fill in a percentage amount (%), for all persons designated below (the shares of all contingent beneficiaries must total 100%, 
including those listed on page 1). If all beneficiaries are to share equally, no percentage needs to be listed. PLEASE PRINT.

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

________________________________________
NAME OF BENEFICIARY

__________________
SPOUSE / CHILD / OTHER

_______
GENDER

_____________________
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

_________________
DATE OF BIRTH

_______
% PERCENT

SIGNATURE OF MEMBER ____________________________________________________ Date ____________________
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